Buffalo Tom Set To Release "Skins" On February 15th: 8th Studio Album & First On Own Label, Scrawny Records

Buffalo Tom is excited to announce that it will be releasing its eighth studio album, Skins, on February 15th, 2011.  Produced by the band in their hometown of Boston, MA, and mixed by long-time friends Paul Q. Kolderie (who produced the band’s breakout third album, 1992’s Let Me Come Over) and Tom Polce, Skins is the follow up to 2007’s acclaimed Three Easy Pieces, which brought Buffalo Tom back into the spotlight after a nine-year hiatus. Skins is the first release on the band’s own Scrawny Records via a worldwide partnership with The Orchard, and features guest Tanya Donnelly of Belly, Breeders, and Throwing Muses fame singing on the song “Don’t Forget Me.” Besides the standard CD, a deluxe edition will be available with demos and b-sides, as well as a vinyl version with a download card featuring the additional songs. The first song from the album, “Arise, Watch,” debuted this week on Stereogum. Click here to download and share Buffalo Tom’s “Arise, Watch” from Skins [Scrawny Records].

Skins is everything you want from a Buffalo Tom album – its rock pummels and its ballads ache – and it reminds you why they hold such a strong place in so many people’s hearts, including Jon Stewart, who had the band play on the final airing of his late-night syndicated talk show in the late 90s. Still comprised of the original trio of Bill Janovitz (guitars and vocals), Chris Colbourn (bass and vocals) and Tom Maginnis (drums), the songwriting is as sharp and poignant today as it ever was.  From the signature interplay of Janovitz and Colbourn’s vocals to the scorching guitars and rolling thunderous drum arrangements, few other bands have been able to master depth and sensitivity at such volumes.

The tracklisting for Skins is below:

01 Arise, Watch
02 She’s Not Your Thing
03 Down
04 Don’t Forget Me
05 Guilty Girls
06 Miss Barren Brooks
07 Paper Knife
08 Here I Come
09 Lost Weekend
10 The Hawks & The Sparrows
11 The Big Light
12 The Kids Just Sleep
13 Out of The Dark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *