Freeloader Friday: Sam Roberts Band, Charles Bradley, Thee Oh Sees, Reputante, Tony Molina, Blank Realm, Gates, Dott, The Glitch Mob, Yacouba Sissoko Band and Tanya Morgan

samrobertsband_lofantasyThis is it, guys. The last Freeloader Friday of 2013. I’ve tried to make it extra special for you, complete with some big-time track premieres, some exclusive free downloads, and memorable music videos.

First up, Sam Roberts Band. He’s a huge sensation up in Canada and he’s about to hit the rest of the world by storm. Take a listen to his track premiere of “Shapeshifters” and the cool artwork for the upcoming album (to the left). Then the oh-so-soulful Charles Bradley takes on Black Sabbath’s “Changes” and gives it his unique spin. Honestly, we can’t get enough of the man, so if you’re not on this boat yet, hop on!

Next, I’ve combined two recent radio top picks with Thee Oh Sees and Reputante. These guys caught the ears of KCRW and KEXP, respectively, and for good reason! Then, two tracks from exciting new records coming up in the new year: Tony Molina‘s “Change My Ways” from a reissue through Slumberland and Blank Realm‘s “Back to the Flood,” followed by new highlights from Gates‘ and Dott‘s recent releases.

Kicking off the music video selection is The Glitch Mob‘s first single from their highly anticipated album, Love Death Immortality and this video is just the first of many highly visual, highly stimulating ones to come from this amazing trio. Then Brian Eno produced this video by Yacouba Sissoko Band from the very near and dear to our heart Africa Express Presents: Maison Des JeunesAnd closing our final Freeloader Friday is the epic Tanya Morgan who take on Brooklyn stereotypes.

Happy holidays, dear Freeloaders! See you next year!

Sam Roberts Band: “Shapeshifters” track premiere via USA Today
Lo-Fantasy out February 11 on Paper Bag Records

Charles Bradley: “Changes” track stream via SPIN
Victim of Love out now on Daptone Records

Thee Oh Sees: “What You Need” free track download via KCRW
Singles Collection Volume 3 out now on Castle Face Records

Reputante: “Deep Set Eyes” track stream via KEXP
Oceanside EP out now on Cult Records

Tony Molina: “Change My Ways” track stream via SPIN
Dissed and Dismissed (Re-issue) out March 25 on Slumberland Records

Blank Realm: “Back to the Flood” track stream via Pitchfork
Grassed Inn out January 13 on Fire Records

Gates: “They See Only Shadows” track stream via Pitchfork
You Are All You Have Left to Fear out now on Pure Noise Records

Dott: “Small Pony” free track download via Magnet
Swoon out now on Graveface

The Glitch Mob: “Can’t Kill Us” track and cymatic video premiere via YouTube
Love Death Immortality out February 11 on Glass Air Records

Yacouba Sissoko Band: “Chanson Denko Tapestry” music video premiere via Noisey
Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes out now on Transgressive Records

Tanya Morgan: “Worldmade” music video via Okayplayer
Rubber Souls out now on Imprint One80 Inc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *