Over the next few weeks, YouTube will no longer require a Google+ profile to upload content to, comment on, or create a new YouTube channel. All you’ll need is your Google account — which you probably already have through Gmail. This new change will allow for greater flexibility when updating a channel or engaging with your favorite content on the platform.
But don’t delete your Google+ page yet! Doing so right now will also delete your YouTube channel and profile, and we definitely don’t want that.
At this time, the only change already in effect is that new comments made on a video/channel will no longer be mirrored on the corresponding Google+ page, and vice versa. Moderation options such as reviewing comments before they’re posted, blocking certain words or auto-approving comments from certain fans all stay the same.
There are, however, several advantages to keeping Google+. Doing so means you’ll still appear on both platforms, which improves SEO and discoverability by allowing Google to place you higher in their search results. Channel verifications and sharing videos will also always be easier with a G+ profile, as will be adding multiple managers to a channel in order to share ownership.
So if you’ve been happy with everything as it is, then just keep doing your thing. After all, it’s totally up to you! To those of you who are more excited with the news, then we’ll be sure to let you know when it’s safe to ditch your profile.