Freeloader Friday: Slow Club, Drowners & More

slowclubHey there freeloaders, my name’s Melissa and I’m going to be taking over Freeloader Fridays for the summer. I’m stoked to be bringing you the latest and greatest that the wide world of music has to offer! Now that we’re no longer strangers, let’s get down to the tunes, shall we?

First off, folk-rock aficionados Slow Club have released “Ancient Rolling Sea,” a track off of the band’s fourth studio album, One Day All of This Won’t Matter Anymore. “Ancient Rolling Sea” surely lives up to its name, as the beautifully haunting bass and vocal harmonies meander through surprisingly light guitar licks to create a slow, rolling sea of sound. Each long vocal melody, contrasting with the pulsing bass, creates a wave that proves to be as calming as the real thing. With a hectic, beach-filled summer ahead, “Ancient Rolling Sea” offers a perfect escape from the fast-paced synth-pop currently filling up the radio waves. So sit back, relax, and allow Slow Club to serenade the night away.

On a similar dark note we’ve got a new track from Drowners, a band straight out of our neck of the woods, New York City. “Conversations With Myself” is a gem off of the band’s sophomore album On Desire, and it surely doesn’t disappoint. Despite its darker lyrics—which describe an “emotional purgatory,” as frontman Matt Hitt puts it—the track’s energetic, urgent feel will take you straight to indie-rock heaven. Right out of the gate, a catchy synth riff along with the rhythmic bass line and kick drum drive the entire song forward, providing a perfect platform to place the introspective lyrics. After getting a glimpse at their The Smiths-esque sound and relatable lyrics, you bet I’ll be counting down the days until On Desire‘s release on June 24.

For this last track, I’m going to take you to church. This week, hip-hop duo Gensu Dean & Denmark Vessey collaborated on “The Meek,” a song that puts a twenty-first century twist on a popular Bible verse: “The meek shall inherit the earth.” Lyrically, Vessey pulls no punches, offering rhymes that bite while smoothly complementing Dean’s somber, expertly crafted beat. The shimmering chords and percussion built atop dense drums that fill the lower register together create a stark contrast, which fits perfectly with the track’s cynical rhymes. The duo’s upcoming LP Whole Food is the latest in collab album put forth by Mello Music, so you know it’s good.

That’s all for me this week! Be sure to come back in seven days for your next fix of sparkly, shiny, fresh-out-of-the-box new music. Have a great weekend!

John Joseph Brill: False Names EP stream via Best Fit
False Names EP out now on Killing Moon Records

Cera Alba: “Solitary Nights” track premiere via EARMILK
‘89 EP out July 1 on Madtech

Slow Club: “Ancient Rolling Sea” track premiere via DIY
One Day All Of This Won’t Matter Anymore out August 19 on Moshi Moshi Records

Gensu Dean and Denmark Vessey: “The Meek” track premiere via Noisey
Whole Food out July 29 on Mellow Music Group

Bacao Rhythm and Steel Band: “Was Dog A Doughnut” track premiere via NPR
55 out now on Big Crown Records

David Shea: “Mirror” track premiere via FACT
Piano 1 out June 3 on Room40

Drowners: “Conversations With Myself” track premiere via HERO
On Desire out June 24th on Frenchkiss Records

WRONG: “Entourage” video premiere via Brooklyn Vegan
Self-titled LP out now on Relapse Records

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *