Ra Ra Riot Gets Carded

Currently supporting critical and commercial darling The Rhumb Line with a massive North American tour, the members of Syracuse’s Ra Ra Riot have been keeping busy since the album’s August 19th release. They recently stopped by Conan (video above), touched down at Daytrotter’s studios for a rousing session, and have whipped up an ecard featuring tons of Rhumb Line content: the 4-part attic video series the band unveiled earlier this month, the MTV2-premiered clip for “Ghost Under Rocks,” a free download of blog-fave “Dying Is Fine,” and a handful of extra goodies. So if you need to bone up on one of 2008’s finest records, now is your chance.

George Clinton Gets Gangsta on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno TONIGHT

The grandfather of funk will take the stage tonight on NBC’s The Tonight Show with Jay Leno (11:35 PM / 10:35 PM CST). George Clinton is bringing His Gangsters of Love into the spotlight tonight to perform material from his new album, aptly titled George Clinton and His Gangsters of Love, out this week. Fans will have to tune in to find out exactly which Gangsters will be joining him – the gang includes such music luminaries as Carlos Santana, Sly Stone, El DeBarge, Kim Burrell, RZA of Wu Tang Clan, Shavon from System of a Down, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers – not to mention P-Funk stalwarts such as Belita Woods and Gary Shider!

MP3: George Clinton featuring Sly Stone and El DeBarge – Ain’t That Peculiar

Miiiiiilow is tired of using technology

Aaaaaayo, are you tired of using technology?

Well if you’re Belgian, such fatigue hasn’t stopped you from using iTunes to make Milow’s new acoustic cover of 50 Cent’s “Ayo Technology,” one of the top 10 purchased downloads in your country!  Shout out to Belgium!  Keep the dream alive, Flanders!

If you’re Perez Hilton or Kanye West (or perhaps have taken some Be KANYE) you’ve even utilized weblog technology to announce fanfariously to the grand public:

Milow has arrived, with dancers.

And if you’re you (and we know you are!), you’re already setting your mouse pointer’s sights on the above link and clicking, since that will take you to the new “Ayo Technology” video from Milow!

Roy Spinto Mask Contest Returns

Earlier this week, Delaware indie pop troupe The Spinto Band continued their ongoing video series at the recently-relaunched Spintoband.com with the announcement of another round in the Roy Spinto Mask Contest. Back in 2006, the band asked fans to print out the visage of the late, great guitarist, and Spinto Band inspiration, Roy Spinto, and send in masked photos. Not ones to turn their back on a good idea, the band is re-launching the contest this year with some “bigger, badder” changes. This time out, there’ll be an impressive team of judges – the members of Ra Ra Riot, LA rapper Pigeon John, XPN DJ Jim McGuinn, Nick’s Krill’s loving father, John, UK Professional Snooker Player Mark “The Jester from Leicester” Selby, and the Yale University Photography Club. No, really. And, of course, the deal’s been sweetened with some serious prizes, too. So head over to www.spintoband.com now, watch the video (with a surprise cameo from 2006’s winner) and get started for a chance to win tickets to upcoming shows, a Spinto t-shirt, and an iPod pre-loaded with Moonwink, and the entire Park The Van catalog.

And while you’re at it, check out the hilarious reading of Gremlins 2: The New Batch for Daytrotter’s Bookery series, or the carnival-esque Moonwink -standout “Pumpkins and Paisley” below. All Spinto Band tour dates after the jump.

MP3 : The Spinto Band – Pumpkins and Paisley