Ying Yang Twins Get ‘Official’ With New Mixtape

Ying Yang Twins

The Official Work / BCD Music Group / BUY

Everyone’s favorite crunk duo is back – The Ying Yang Twins new Mixtape, The Official Work, is in stores now through BCD Music. The album is the first new material since the certified platinum duo’s 2006 release Chemically Imbalanced and includes 11 new songs and 6 skits, all with original production and their signature crunk touch. Single “Look Back at It” finds the Twins issuing a call to ladies to work it in the club.

The Ying Yang Twins began their climb to fame in 2000 with the hit single, “Whistle While You Twurk”, which received heavy airplay on urban and pop radio stations, peaking at #16 on the US R&B/Hip-Hop chart. In 2002, Ying Yang Twins released Alley: The Return of the Ying Yang Twins and appeared on the single “Get Low” from Lil Jon’s successful Kings of Crunk album. The song was a huge club and radio hit, and the duo subsequently signed a deal with TVT Records. Their first album released under TVT, Me & My Brother, quickly went platinum.

We here at Rind HQ are excited to see the Twins back in the spotlight with their crunktastic antics on The Official Work.  Download “Look Back At It” and see for yourself why the ladies can’t help but work it when the crunk hits the club.

MP3: Ying Yang Twins – Look Back At It

Tracklist after the jump. (more…)

The Daily Rind Podcast: Week of August 26

The latest installment in the Daily Rind’s weekly podcasts is here.

Track 1: Mr. Lif “Presidential Report Vol. 1” [Bloodbot Tactical Enterprises
Track 2: Immortal Technique “Harlem Renaissance” from The 3rd World [Viper Records]
Track 3: The Bloody Beetroots “Butter” from The Rombo EP [Dim Mak]
Track 4: The Spinto Band “Summer Grof” from Moonwink [Park The Van]
Track 5: Frances  “Brain” from All The While [Gigantic Music]
Bump music: Uusitalo “Korpikansa” from Karhunainen [Huume Records]

Harmony Central: Carlon Coos and Crows On Ropeadope Debut

Meet Carlon, the secret treasure of New Jersey, recently scooped up by Ropeadope Digital, the lucky ducks who’ll get to issue the twangy indie quartet’s debut full-length, Johari Window , on September 30th. Why so lucky? Well, the long-anticipated following-up to the band’s self-released Suburban Heel EP overflows with folksy rock songs and meticulously-harmonized ballads that masterfully take cues from 60s rock, Americana, and sweet tea indie acts like Band of Horses. But, hey, you don’t have to take our word for it. In advance of the album’s release, Carlon has offered up one of Johari Window ‘s many stand-outs, “Cantaloupe,” for free download. No stranger to reverb, this song borrows the grain silo massiveness of early My Morning Jacket records, while calling to mind the careful harmonies of Fleet Foxes. Gorgeous, right? Right.

MP3 : Carlon – Cantaloupe

Backyard Tire Fire Bring Their Blazing Rock to The Places We Lived

Backyard Tire Fire have been burning up the web since the 2007 release of Vagabonds and Hooligans, an album that landed on many year-end “best of” lists and brought the Bloomington, IL trio into the tastemaker spotlight. This year finds the band on a new label, Hyena Records, and their fourth album The Places We Lived is winning over fans and fresh ears alike with its exciting brand of indie roots-rock and down to earth songwriting. Streaming right now on AOL Spinner and My Old Kentucky Blog (and available for purchase right here), The Places We Lived has been called “Midwestern Americana at it’s slice-of-hard-life best” by Berkeley Place, and CYSTSFTS calls it “lovelorn with yearning nostalgia but coupled with straight-up Southern-fried noise.” Stop Okay Go recently conducted an interview with frontman Ed Anderson right here, and PopMatters gave the album a great review as well.

Influenced by classic artists like The Band, Howlin’ Wolf and Neil Young, Backyard Tire Fire frontman and principle songwriter Anderson says, “my objective in the songwriting process is to be honest. I want folks to feel like the tune was written for them and identify with what the song is about.” This sincere approach is what has people comparing Anderson to great American storytellers like Hank Williams and Lowell George. He is joined by the rock solid rhythm section of his brother Matt on bass and Tim Kramp on drums. BTF has shared stages with the likes of Jason Isbell, Clutch and Cracker, and are starting a headlining tour with Ha Ha Tonka next week in Chicago, before embarking on a slew of December dates with the legendary Reverend Horton Heat.

Check out opening track “The Places We Lived” below. Full tour dates and tracklist after the jump.

MP3: Backyard Tire Fire – The Places We Lived


S.till S.peaking T.ruths

SST. Despite the accuracy of the above headline, it actually stands for Solid State Transmitters, which was originally a mail-order WWII surplus radio equipment company that Greg Ginn started when he was twelve. Now thirty years after Greg changed the dial from surplus to punk, we are celebrating one of the most pivotal and influential labels of our time. How we love thee SST, let us count the ways.

Perhaps you are simply a fan of a little band that Greg started called Black Flag . Yes, THAT Black Flag; the hardcore band responsible for launching the TRUE indie DIY model/mentality. Maybe you’re a warm blooded, die hard Minnesotan with a love for Hüsker Dü and a certain Mr. Bob Mould who would go on to influence everyone from The Pixies to Green Day .

For me, I was smitten once SST put out I Against I by Bad Brains . When the worlds of hardcore and reggae combine forces it only makes sense for the offspring to reside at SST. While this was the only Bad Brains album to come out on SST their explosive frontman H.R. would continue making records with Greg for some time to come.

Crossing lines and mixing flavors was nothing foreign to SST, however, as one of their most pivotal releases Double Nickels on the Dime featured 45 tracks with styles ranging from punk to jazz and funk to country. Touching upon important social issues such as the Vietnam War and racism, the album credits inspiration from such visionaries as Jack Brewer and one time Black Flag frontman Henry Rollins .

The Minutemen , Soundgarden , Sonic Youth , Dinosaur Jr. , The Descendants …the list goes on and on and on. You have

undoubtedly rocked out to an SST release, bought a badass vintage t-shirt of one of their bands, tattooed the Black Flag logo on you forearm or sworn

allegiance to a modern day band that would have

never existed had Greg Ginn and SST not started putting out records.

For 30 years we have been following Greg Ginn’s lead by cranking up the dial, at least to 11, and personally i cant wait for the new bands 30 years from now to do the same, giving us, and a new generation of music fans a reason to rock, all while still having a home to trace it all back to.