Skip to content

2019 Spellemann Awards Announce Winners

2019 Spellemann Awards Announce Winners

The annual Spellemann Awards (Spellemannprisen), also known as the Norwegian GRAMMYs, were held virtually this year and celebrated Norwegian artists, albums, and releases from 2019. Though originally scheduled to be held in March, this year’s Spellemann Awards were moved to May 1, 2020, and were broadcasted nationally on TV and radio. Awards were handed out over live stream chats in the artists living rooms and at talk shows. Though this year’s awards were celebrated a little bit differently, the Spellemann Awards still took the time to recognize the incredible releases that came out of the Norwegian music scene from the past year. 2019 was definitely a strong year for Norwegian music, and many of The Orchard’s local labels received nominations for their artists and albums in different categories. 

Norway independent label Peroleum Records’ artist Sigrid took home the prestigious Spellemann Of The Year Award, as well as the award for Best Pop Act for the album Sucker Punch. Sigrid’s producer for Sucker Punch Martin Sjølie also won the award for Producer of the Year.

Norwegian rock/pop duo brenn. was one of the most exciting rock acts to come out of Norway in 2019. In April of last year, the duo released their debut album Elsker. The duo received the award for Best Rock Act for Elsker at this year’s Spellemann Awards!

See the full list of award winners here and The Orchard’s partners listed below: 

Spellemann of The Year

Sigrid (Peroleum Records)

Album of The Year

Karpe – SAS PLUS / SAS PUSSY (Apen & Kjeften)


Sigrid – Sucker Punch (Peroleum Records)


Brenn. – Elsker (brenn./Compro)


Gaahls WYRD – Gastir – Ghosts Invited (Indie Recordings)

Contemporary Classical

Øyvind Torvund/BIT 20 Ensemble, Trond Matsen, Kjetil Møster & Jørgen Træen – The Exotica Album (Hubro)

Composer of The Year

Helge Iberg – Helge Iberg: Songs of The Planet of Life (Aurora)


Frida Ånnevik – Andre Sanger (Grappa Musikkforlag)

Non-Genre Specific

Erlend Apneseth Trio & Frode Haltli – Salika, Molika (Hubro)

Children’s Music

Maria Solheim & Silje Sirnes Winje – Bråkebøttebaluba (Kirkelig Kulturverksted)


Morgenrode – Morgenrode (Talik)


Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra (Simax)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra (Simax)

Producer of The Year

Martin Sjølie – Sucker Punch (Sigrid)

Lyricist of The Year

 Signe Marie Rustad – When Words Flew Freely (Die With Your Boots on/Jansen)

If you liked that post, here's more:


The Norwegian Grammys A.K.A Spellemannprisen Name Winners

The annual Spellemann Awards (Spellemannprisen) took place March 30, 2019 and celebrated the shining Norwegian artists and releases of between January 1 and December 31 of 2018. Many of The Orchard's partners were on the scene at Chateau Neuf for the e...


Daily News Highlights: Friday February 7, 2020

Myke Towers' 'Girl' Gives 50 Cent's '21 Questions' A Latin Urban Twist: See the Lyric Translation White Stripes Mark 20th Anniversary of ‘De Stijl’ With Third Man Vault Reissue THE 50 GREATEST WORLD MUSIC ALBUMS OF THE LAST 5 YEARS (UPDATED 2020) ...


Daily News Highlights: Tuesday, January 28, 2020

BTS Charts Its Record-Extending 18th No. 1 Hit She Is The Music campaign signs up 19 big supporters Midia Research thinks we’re in a ‘song economy’ now