Who’s Repping The Orchard At The 2018 Junos?

The 2018 JUNO Award Nominees have been announced, highlighting many gifted artists, including some of our own distributed labels and partners. Organized annually but the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS), The JUNO Awards honor and promote Canadian artists and their musical influences around the world. This year, the awards have made their way to Vancouver’s Rogers Arena and will be hosted by Michael Bublé on March 25th.

James Ehnes is noted twice for his classical masterful releases via Onyx Classics. Alongside Andrew Armstrong, James is up for Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber for  Beethoven: Violin Sonatas Nos. 6 & 9 ‘Kreutzer.’ His expert violin prowess with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra also earned James a nomination for Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble for Beethoven: Violin Concerto.

Dark and demonic label, Season of the Mist earned two nominations under Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year. Vancouver metal rockers, Aciients gained placement for Voice of the Void alongside label-mate Archspire for their album Relentless Mutation. We’re here for the metal and so is CARAS.

Congratulations to all! Check out the full list a Juno Awards nominees for more information.

Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber
Beethoven: Violin Sonatas Nos. 6 & 9 ‘Kreutzer’ — James Ehnes with Andrew Armstrong (Onyx Classics)

Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble
Beethoven: Violin Concerto — James Ehnes with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra (Onyx Classics)

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year
The Weather Station – The Weather Station (Outside Music)

Dance Recording of the Year
Closer ft. Laurell –Nick Fiorucci (Hi-Bias Records)

Adult Alternative Album of the Year
Paradise — Terra Lightfoot (Sonic Unyon / SME Canada)
Panther in the Dollhouse — Whitehorse (Six Shooter Records)

Blues Album of the Year
No Time Like Now — Steve Strongman (Sonic Unyon / SME Canada)

Electronic Album of the Year
Someone Else — CRi (Young Art Records)

Group of the Year
A Tribe Called Red (Pirates Blend/SME Canada)

Recording Engineer of the Year
“Paradise” “NEW MISTAKES” by Terra Lightfoot (Sonic Unyon / SME Canada), “Boys Like You” PANTHER IN THE DOLLHOUSE by Whitehorse (Six Shooter Records) — Gus van Go

Songwriter of the Year
“Chosen”, “Grace” co-songwriter Mark Erelli, “White Flag” co-songwriter KS Rhoads from Natural Conclusion — Rose Cousins (Outside Music)
“Main Girl”, “Paradise Motion”, “The Kids” MAIN GIRL — Charlotte Cardin (Cult Nation)

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Charlotte Cardin (Cult Nation/SME Canada)

Francophone Album of the Year
La science du coeur — Pierre Lapointe (Audiogram/SME Canada)
Nos Eldorados — Alex Nevsky (Audiogram/SME Canada)
Paloma — Daniel Belanger (Audiogram/SME Canada)

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Human — Jhyve (Awesome Music/SME Canada)

Hard Music/Metal Album of the Year
Voice of the Void — Anciients (Seasons of Mist/SME Canada)
Relentless — Archspire (Seasons of Mist/SME Canada)

World Album of the Year
Where the Galleon Sank — Kobo Town (Stonetree Records)

Comedy Album of the Year
Fatherland — Charlie Demers (604 Records)
I Wanted to Be a Dinosaur — Ivan Decker (Comedy Dynamics)

Image Courtesy of Juno Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *