Skip to content

Norwegian Spellemann Awards Announce Nominees

Norwegian Spellemann Awards Announce Nominees

The annual Spellemann awards – AKA the Norwegian Grammys – have announced their nominations for Spellemann 2020, celebrating music releases from 2020. The nominations were announced during a digital press conference and will take place virtually on Friday, April 16 on NRK1. Across the 23 categories announced, we’re proud to share that The Orchard distributed artists and labels have received over 40 nominations that span across almost all genres, from Metal and Children’s Music to Jazz and Classical.

Norwegian Americana duo Darling West are nominated in the Country category for their latest album We’ll Never Know Unless We Try. You may remember the duo from The Orchard’s 2020 livestream event Stay Home Fest Part 2, where the group performed a global live streamed performance and Q&A. Also nominated in the Country category is Malin Pettersen for her album Wildhorse, which American Songwriter said is “the kind of storytelling that promises a long, healthy career ─ and she’s just getting started.” 

From established artists like Motorpsycho, Knut Reiersrud and Valkyrien Allstars to newcomers like TORA being honored for her album Girls in the Blues genre and young artist Bølgen making waves with his hit song “Er ikke verre” nominated for Breakthrough of the Year, we could not be more proud to work alongside such a wide range of talent. 

Find the list of The Orchard distributed nominees below and the full list of nominees here.

Breakthrough Artist

Bølgen (MTG Music) 

Children’s Music

hei kalas – hvorfor er jeg allergisk? (Grappa Musikkforlag)

Aslak Brimi og Mari Midtli – Huldra Hildur (Talik Records)

Sarah Camille – Sport av dråper og røde nebb (Ok World / Jazzland)

Andreas Ihlebæk – Northern Lullabies (NXN Recordings / Altissimo!) 


The Bills – Til The Blues Have Gone (Wheeling Records / Musikkoperatørene)

Knut Reiersrud – Ballads and Blues from the 20’s Vol. 1 (Kirkelig Kulturverksted) 

TORA – Girls (Touchdown Music) 


Malin Pettersen – Wildhorse (Die With Your Boots On Records / Jansen Plateproduksjon)

Darling West – We’ll Never Know Unless We Try (Jansen Plateproduksjon) 


Niilas – Also This Will Change (Niilas / Indigoboom)


Britt Pernille Frøholm – Fokhaugen (Kviven Records / Musikkoperatørene)

Mads Erik Odde – Logne slåttar (Talik Records)

Ronny Kjøsen – BondeBohem (Øra Fonogram)

Johanne Flottorp/Åsmund Solberg – Heimespel (Taragot) 


Nils Bech – Foolish Heart (Nils Bech)

Das Body – Peregrine (Das Body Music) 


Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra – If You Listen Carefully the Music is Yours (ODIN / Grappa Musikkforlag) 

Møster! – Dust Breathing (Hubro / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Lassen – Human samling (Jazzland Recordings)

Maria Kannegaard Trio – Sand i en vik (Jazzland Recordings)


Arve Tellefsen, Kaare Ørnung – Haijn Kaare Ørnung å Æ (Simax Classics)

Sandra Lied Haga – Sandra Lied Haga (Simax Classics) 


Okkultokrati – La Ilden Lyse (Southern Lord)

Beaten To Death – Laat maar, ik verhuis naar het bos (Mas-Kina Recordings) 


Emilie Nicolas – Let her Breathe (Little Big Sister)


Motorpsycho – The All Is One (Rune Grammofon)

Undergrünnen – Ein revnande likegyldighet (Jansen Plateproduksjon)

Lyricist of the year

Tuva Livsdatter Syvertsen (Heilo / Grappa Musikkforlag)


Tøyen Fil og Klafferi – Botanisk hage (Aurora)

Christian Wallumrød Ensemble – Many (Hubro / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Kim Myhr & Australian Art Orchestra – Vesper (Hubro / Grappa Musikkforlag) 

TONOs komponistpris

Henrik Ødegaard – Beatitudes (Simax Classics)

Daniel Herskedal – Call For Winter (Edition Records)

Andreas Rotevatn – alea iacta est (ODIN / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Maja S. K. Ratkje: Maja S. K. Ratkje – Works for String Orchestra (Fabra) 

Viser (Shows)

Valkyrien Allstars – slutte og byne (Heilo / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Marthe Wang – Bakkekontakt (Bjerke)

Terje Norum og Trond Granlund – Skogslusken (Trond Granlund / Lydmuren)

Stein Torleif Bjella – Øvre-Ål Toneakademi (Heime med hund / Ramalama)

Åpen klasse (Open Class)

Hedvig Mollestad – Ekhidna (Rune Grammofon)

Stian Westerhus – Redundance (House of Mythology)Mimmi – Semper Eadem SS (Audio / Musikkoperatørene)

If you liked that post, here's more:


CMT Awards Announce 2020 Nominees

The CMT Awards were established in 2002 by the popular Country music television channel honoring only music videos. Usually, the ceremony airs in July during Nashville’s CMA Fest. Over the years, CMT grew in popularity, and in 2019, the CMT Awards saw 2.7 ...


Steppeulven Awards Announce 2020 Nominees

The Steppeulven Awards is an annual award ceremony established by the Association of Danish Music Critics. The Association is comprised of music journalists and reviewers from various Danish publications. The Orchard is proud to sponsor this year’s 'Releas...


2019 Spellemann Awards Announce Winners

The annual Spellemann Awards (Spellemannprisen), also known as the Norwegian GRAMMYs, were held virtually this year and celebrated Norwegian artists, albums, and releases from 2019. Though originally scheduled to be held in March, this year’s Spellemann Aw...