Skip to content

Spellemann Awards Announce Nominees

Spellemann Awards Announce Nominees

The annual Spellemann awards – otherwise known as the Norwegian Grammys – have announced their nominations during a digital press conference, celebrating music releases from 2021. The ceremony will take place on Friday, April 22 on NRK1. Across the 28 categories announced, we’re proud to share that The Orchard distributed artists and labels have received 51 nominations that span genres, from Metal and Hip-hop to Jazz, Classical, and Children’s Music.

Ash Olsen and Murder Maids point to the future with their exciting career debuts and nominations in the category Breakthrough Artist. We’re thrilled to see young artists being recognized for their work in different categories. In Hip-hop, you’ll find Mo Ayn and B-Boy Myhre, while Bendik HK and Vilde Tuv receive recognition in Electronica. In the Rnb/Soul category, we have Beharie and Marie Noreger.

There are legendary longtime musicians too: Vidar Busk is well known to the Blues category after more than 20 years of playing the blues guitar. Violinist and composer Ola Kvernberg is nominated in two categories for his masterwork Steamdome II, including the credible Release of the Year (previously called Album of the Year) and Alternative Pop & Rock. Finally, the experimental guitarist Hedvig Mollestad is nominated for two different awards with her albums released in 2021: her internationally acclaimed trio band is nominated in Rock with Ding Dong. You’re Dead., while her second solo album Tempest Revisited is nominated among the Uncategorized Works.

Huge congratulations to all our labels and artists!

Find the list of The Orchard distributed nominees below and the full list of nominees here

Release of the Year

Ola Kvernberg – Steamdome II: The Hypogean (Grappa Musikkforlag)

Breakthrough Artist

Ash Olsen (EZ Money)

Murder Maids (F*cking North Pole Records)

Alternative Pop & Rock

Orions Belte – Villa Amorini (Jansen Records)

Ola Kvernberg – Steamdome II: The Hypogean (Grappa Musikkforlag)


Mo Ayn – Gjeter (Dunya Records)

B-Boy Myhre – Absolute B-Boy Myhre (B-Boy Myhre)


Bendik HK – Progressive Rock Music (Mutual Intentions)

Vilde Tuv – Melting Songs (Poesy)

Children’s Music

Christine Sandtorv – Stjerneteller: Automagisk (Ifemmera Records)

Du og jeg og vi 2-3-4 – Balkongfest (Du og jeg / Indigoboom)

Tone Hulbækmo – Eg kan (Grappa Musikkforlag)


Adam Douglas – Better Angels (Compro Records)

Vidar Busk & His True Believers – The Civilized Life (Blue Mood / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Norsk Utflukt – Heder & Verdighet (Grammofon)


Ole Kirkeng – Rocking Chair (Die With Your Boots On)


Flukten – Velkommen håp (Grappa Musikkforlag)

Friends and Neighbors – The Earth is # (Trem Azul)

Ole Morten Vågan & Trondheim Jazz Orchestra – Plastic Wave (ODIN / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Siri Malmedal Hauge – Slowly, slowly (Jazzland Recordings)


Håkon Skogstad, Atle Sponberg & Trondheimsolistene – Visions of Tango (Øra Fonogram)

Sonoko Miriam Welde & Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra – Bruch / Vaughan / Williams / Barber (LAWO Classics)


Einherjer – North Star (Napalm Records)

Djevel – Tanker som rir natten (Aftermath)

Nekromantheon – The Visions of Trismegistos (Indie Recordings)


Bernhoft – Dancing On My Knees (Kikitepe Cassette) 


Erlend Ropstad – Da himmelen brant var alle hunder stille (Indie Recordings)

Hedvig Mollestad Trio – Ding dong. You’re dead. (Rune Grammofon)

Kanaan – Earthbound (Jansen Records)


Beharie – Beharie // Beharie (Compro Records)

Marie Noreger – GRAVITY (Tight Music)

Traditional Folk Music

Synnøve Brøndbo Plassen – Hjemve – Slåttetralling fra Folldal (Heilo / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Sarah-Jane Summers & Juhani Silvola – The Smoky Smirr o Rain (Eight Nerve / Musikkoperatørene)

Contemporary Folk Music (Viser)

Daniela Reyes – Engangsdager (Grappa Musikkforlag)

Marthe Valle – Tilbakestilling (Fauna / Musikkoperatørene)

Eva Weel Skram – Sleppe Tak (Heartmaker Music)


Erlend Apneseth Trio – Lokk (Hubro / Grappa Musikkforlag)

Hedvig Mollestad – Tempest Revisited (Rune Grammofon)

Ulver – Scary Muzak (House of Mythology)

Contemporary Classical Music

Alpaca Ensemble – Rehnqvist / Lindquist (LAWO Classics)

Håvard Gimse – 20 Norwegian Piano Miniatures (Fabra)

Signe Bakke / James Clapperton / Kjetil Møster / BIT20 Ensemble – soccorsi (LAWO Classics)

TONO’s Composer Award

Alpaca Ensemble & Eirik Hegdal with Thea Ellingsen Grant – The Sky Opens Twice (Particular Recordings Collective)

Sjøforsvarets Musikkorps / Ingar Bergby – L ‘homme armé: Works by Ketil Hvoslef (LAWO Classics)

Tora Augestad, Diego Lucchesi, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Henrik Hellstenius: Past & Presence (LAWO Classics)

Ingfrid Breie Nyhus – Slåttepiano II (LabLabel)

International Success of the Year

AURORA (Petroleum Records)

Music Video of the Year

Sei Selina – Only When You’re Asleep (GR:OW Records)

Sondre Justad – Sorry (feat. Musti) (Petroleum Records)

Lyricist of the year

Daniela Reyes – Engangsdager (Grappa Musikkforlag)

Lars Saabye Christensen – Et snev av evig (Grappa Musikkforlag)

If you liked that post, here's more:


Norwegian Spellemann Awards Announce Nominees

The annual Spellemann awards - AKA the Norwegian Grammys - have announced their nominations for Spellemann 2020, celebrating music releases from 2020. The nominations were announced during a digital press conference and will take place virtually on Friday,...


Steppeulven Awards Announce 2020 Nominees

The Steppeulven Awards is an annual award ceremony established by the Association of Danish Music Critics. The Association is comprised of music journalists and reviewers from various Danish publications. The Orchard is proud to sponsor this year’s 'Releas...